Recommendations

LordSlithor

Staff member
When it came to pen and paper, and tabletop games, I've always been kind of a dilettante; always wanted to get into it, but was never able to fully commit either due to time, expense, or lack of other people to play with (also, social skills when I was younger). But these days I've found a few I've been wanting to get into. So feel free to tell me what you all think.

D&D- The classic. 5th edition's gotten some positive press. But I'd also like to revisit 1st edition modules that I never played, especially with the Maximum Mayhem modules by Dark Wizard games.

Starfinder- A Sci-Fi spinoff from the makers of Pathfinder that came out less than a year ago.

Mansions of Madness- A board game with miniatures based on the Cthulhu mythos. Looked cool to me.

Rayguns & Rocketships- Another miniature board game inspired by 1930s-50s pulp Sci-Fi

Stingray

Staff member
I've been playing D&D and AD&D in some form on and off for the past 32 years. Gandalf and myself recently were playing in a 5th Edition game for about 2 and half years until our DM was forced to change his hours and had to start working Saturday nights. We made it all the way to level 16 and were about to enter into a major clash with cult of the dragon and presumably Tiamat. It was a good game. Plus socially it was fun to get all the guys together and BS and drink a few beers too.